Honey Castella Cake (Nagasaki)

A few days ago while wandering around Ion Orchard I decided to search for Baton Cookies. Turns out that my coconut baton cookies at Royce are only sold at other outlets 😦 So I decided to wander into this shop called Nippon-Ya, a Japanese sweet boutique. Tried to search for my baton cookies but to no avail. I was about to exit when something caught my eye.

image

It was the Honey Castella cake from Nagasaki >0< I first read about the cake from a manga (whose name eludes my memory) and found out from Google that the cake originated from Nagasaki. I decided on a whim to buy it.
When I got home, I tore open the packaging and proceeded to try this famous cake.

image

True to the Japanese way, they maintain the quality of their cakes through a double packaging method.

image

The cakes have already been pre-sliced (no arguing over who gets the bigger slice :b) and thus eliminates the hassle of getting a knife. Upon biting into the cake I was in heaven. The cake was saturated in honey but yet was not overtly sweet. In fact, it tasted like Manuka Honey. I can forsee that this cake will probably be one of my regular tea-time snack.
This is the type of cake that is best enjoyed over a cup of tea with a good book or company.
For the price of around $15, I would say it is a bit pricey but considering the quality of the cake I will say its worth it.
If I have a chance to visit Nagasaki I will definitely try their castella cake and compare it with this one. As of now, this is a piece of Japan that I can afford in the comfort of my home, Singapore.

Verdict:
Waiting Time: Not Applicable – It’s a boutique store

Service: Not Applicable

Food & Drinks: Excellent – For the price, the castella cake are definitely worth every single cent.

Conclusion: If you ever have the craving for castella cake do try this one out. It’s literally a piece of heaven

Location & Timing
Ion Orchard
#B4-13
Opening Hours
6534 9020
10am – 10pm daily

Leave a comment